Dewsbury president hits hole in one

Ian Preston hit a hole in one at Dewsbury District GC
Ian Preston hit a hole in one at Dewsbury District GC

Dewsbury District Golf Club president Ian Preston produced one of the highlights at the captain’s weekend when he hit a hole in one at the Par 3 ninth.

The weekend, held between Friday July 12 to Sunday July 14, began with a mixed greensome followed by a 36 hole medal competition.

The course was in fantastic condition with fast fairways and true running greens, which were a credit to head greenkeeper James Gill and his team.

The excellent conditions helped produce some impressive scores, with prizes on the day being provided by captain Jason Weston.

Winner of the captain’s prize, with a best nett score of 36, was Jim Thorn (9 handicap) with scored of 70 and 65 totalling 135. Runner-up was Nigel Fox (9 handicap) with a 69 and 68 for 137.Adam Crum took the best gross over 36 holes.

Other Prizes — Saturday

Div 1 winner: Gary Prentice. Runner-up: Russell Yelland. Div 2 winner: Mick Etchells. Runner-up: Mick Toon. Div 3 winner: Steve Dobson. Runner-up: Jimmy Main. Veterans Prize: Norman Link.


Div 1 winner: Ben Crowther. Runner-up: Ian Welsh. Div 2 winner: Peter Ramsden. Runner-up: Andrew Payne. Div 3 winner: Trevor Ball. Runner-up: Lewis Bairstow. Veterans Prize: Ian Hardy

Midweek Div 1 winner: Nigel Stephenson. Midweek Div 2 winner: Martyn Turner.

Mixed Greensomes male winner: Robert Speight. Runner-up: Eric Franks. Female winner: Barbara Barron. Runner-up: Susan Michaels. Ladies Prize winner: Diana Green. Runner-up: Susan Hayman. Junior Prize winner: Ben Leitch

n Ruth Senior won the East Bierley GC Ladies Section EGU Medal with a score of 73 (handicap 27) with Eileen Craig second with 75 (23).

n Phil Godfrey won the Hanging Heaton GC Captain’s Prize, hosted by Paul O’Hara last Saturday.

Godfrey, playing off a 20 handicap, recorded nett rounds of 64 and 60 to score 124 points.

Second was Derek Colquhoun with 67 and 61 for a score of 128, Scott Colquhoun was third (69 + 65 = 134), Jonny Allott fourth (67 + 68 = 135), Peter Parly was fifth (69 + 68 = 137) and Tony Hill sixth (66 + 71 = 137).

Danielle Sidebottom won the 18 hole Lady Captain’s Prize with a nett 66.