Gibson wins hat-trick of Trojans prizes

Joel Gibson
Joel Gibson

Joel Gibson won a hat-trick of awards at Thornhill Trojans’ senior presentation evening.

Gibson claimed the first team player of the year, along with the players’ player and supporters’ player awards in what has been a terrific season.

Most improved first team player was Jake Hickling, Liam Morley took the coach’s special award, while long standing secretary Andrew Byram received a 20 years service award.

Mark Hodgson was named A team players’ player and supporters’ player of the year, with Lee Smith taking A team player of the year. Jordan Truelove was most improved A team player.

Club Awards

Margaret Ward Trophy: Dom Mason. Rod Brook Award: Ben Kendall. Stanley Gath Memorial Cup: Rachel Hodgson. John Bragg Memorial Trophy (joint winners): Ian Rayner & Wayne Loney. Roy Harrison Memorial Trophy (Clubman of the year): Sam Ratcliffe.

n Thornhill are celebrating a £1,000 cash windfall from Challenge Cup sponsors Tetley’s.

Thornhill secured the most mentions on Facebook and Twitter using Tetley’s slogan #PassitOn during May.

Former Trojans players Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants) and Paul Sykes (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats) presented a cheque for £1,000 to Trojans officials.

Chairman Gordon Ratcliffe said: “The £1,000 is the culmination of lots of hard work. For Tetley’s to offer this to clubs, who are always struggling to find finances, is fantastic.”