Lets take the bragging rights

Glenn Morrison
Glenn Morrison

GLENN Morrison will send his Dewsbury Rams side out with a clear message ahead of the Boxing Day showdown at Batley Bulldogs (kick-off noon).

Morrison is determined to get a win under his belt in his first game in charge but also wants to send the Dewsbury fans away with a belated Christmas present with a derby day victory.

Morrison said: “We know how important this game is for the fans and we want to put on a good performance, play some entertaining rugby and give our fans the bragging rights over Christmas.”

This is one of the most eagerly anticipated Boxing Day derbies in years with Dewsbury and Batley both set to field a number of debutants.

Dewsbury have named 12 of their close-season signings in the 20-man squad, with Dario Esposito the only one to miss out due to prior family commitments.

New signings Aaron Brown and Jy-Mel Coleman will make their Rams debuts, while Morrison is also keen to look at the various half-back partnerships during the three pre-season matches, with Scott Spaven and Jonathan Schofield coming into the reckoning.

Morrison added: “We have rotated the half-backs in training and will look to do the same in the friendlies but everyone will want to impress so they are in the team against Doncaster in the first round.

“There is a real buzz about the place at the moment. We have brought 13 new boys into the squad and this match gives the fans chance to watch and learn who they are.

“Everyone is working hard to make improvements off the field and the pressure is on us to continue that on it.

“We have had to cram a lot into the last six weeks. We have stripped the boys down and started from scratch but we will look to take things on board and learn from each of our friendlies.”

The derby is being sponsored buy We Buy Gold.

Rams squad: James Craven, Dale Morton, Scott Hale, Greg Scott, Jamaine Akaidere, Aaron Brown, Jy-mel Coleman, Tom Lillycrop, Ryan Wright, Russ Spiers, Rob Spicer, Josh Tonks, Tommy Gallagher, Matthew Tebb, Ryan Hepworth, Jonathan Schofield, Elliott Cosgrove, Callan Beckett, Scott Spaven, Makali Aizue.