Mirfield set for CYL return

MIRFIELD will embark on their final season in the Huddersfield Central League on Sunday after being accepted into the Central Yorkshire League for next year, writes Andrew Hunt.

Mirfield spent 48 years in the CYL from 1952 before chancing their arm in the Bradford League from 2000 to 2005.

Mirfield became one of the dominant forces in the CYL and having missed out on all four trophies up for grabs, to the all conquering Batley side in 1989, Derek Johnson led Mirfield to the CYL title and Heavy Woollen Cup double in 1990.

Pat Neal is the only member of that double winning side who remains at Memorial Park and he has played a major role in guiding Mirfield back to the CYL.

“In some ways it feels like we will be returning home,” said Neal, the club’s first team captain and secretary. “We felt the time was right for us to try and return to a higher standard of cricket and in the long run, may be we can get back to the standard we once played at.”

Mirfield will start in Division Two next year, with their seconds in Division Four. They begin their Huddersfield Central Section A campaign with a home derby against Heckmondwike and Carlinghow on Sunday.

Thornhill & Westborough are Dewsbury’s leading side in the Huddersfield Central and start their Premier Division campaign at Nortonthorpe, while Upper Hopton A visit Birkby Rose Hill in Section C.

Mirfield Parish Cavaliers face a tough test at champions Wrenthorpe in the Central Yorkshire League Premier Division on Saturday.

Although Parish will start as big underdogs, they will take heart after Wrenthorpe were sent crashing out of the Heavy Woollen Cup last Sunday, with a shock defeat at Delph & Dobcross.

Two of the pre-season promotion favourites clash in Division One when Moorlands travel to Liversedge, who have ex-Mirfield junior David Bolt in their ranks, while Hopton Mills host Netherton in Division Two.