Moorlands secure title after big runs victory over Scholes

MOORLANDS signed off from the CYL as Division One champions after sealing the title with a 178-run victory over Scholes writes Andrew Hunt..

Captain Andrew Fortis led his side with 50, while Nadeem Hussain (42) and Adam Roberts (33) also shone as they reached 217-7 before dismissing Scholes for just 39 in 15.2 overs as Andrew Walker claimed 6-17.

Ossett finished runners-up and with Moorlands departing for the Huddersfield League next season they have claimed the only promotion spot.

Michael Edwards (93), Oliver Newton (70) and Ryan Wilby (39) helped Ossett post 248-5 in their final game against Oulton, who were dismissed for 128 in reply as Shoaib Latif claimed 5-50.

Hopton Mills signed off with a 17-run win over Buttershaw St Pauls to finish in third place.

Mills were in deep trouble at 85-8 before Ahmed Faraz (43) and Richard Myers (23no) helped steer them to 173 all out.

James Sawyer (49), Ian Carradice (43) and Muhammed Naveed Bhatti (33) led Buttershaw’s reply but they were bowled out for 156 as Myers (4-54) and Michael Carroll (3-49) impressed.

Liversedge signed off an indifferent season with one of their best performances of the summer as they defeated East Leeds by 160 runs.

Openers Matthew Gibson (104) and Conor McInerney (119no) produced a superb first wicket stand to set Liversedge on their way to 243-1 from their 50 overs before East Leeds were dismissed for 83 in reply with Nigel Doyle (4-23) and Graeme Winn (3-19) bowling well.

Wakefield St Michaels edged out East Ardsley in a thrilling final match which went down to the very last ball.

Robert Smith made 90 not out and with support from Ashley Chapman (34) and Geoff Hunt (27), Ardsley made 200-6.

Openers Mark Atkinson (97) and John Bowett (41) got the St Michaels reply off to an excellent start before Ardsley fought back with Paul Kinder, Mark Heald and Tom Smith claiming two wickets each.

The Saints required two runs to win off the final ball and Thomas Ramsden struck a four.