Pair celebrate Smith Trophy win

Bowls final at Mirfield Bowling Club, winners Graham Sheard and Graham Dewhirst with their trophy. (d602a237)
Bowls final at Mirfield Bowling Club, winners Graham Sheard and Graham Dewhirst with their trophy. (d602a237)

GRAHAM Sheard and Graham Dewhirst won the Darren Smith Pairs Trophy at Mirfield Bowling Club lst Friday.

The compeition was open to all Mirfield residents or bowlers who play in the town.

Mirfield Old Bank Autumn Double Qualifiers

Thursday September 6: Graham Hickey and Mike Leach (Lower Hopton/Preston) beat Roger Crowther and Paul Ingleby ( Longwood ) 49-19.

Monday September 10: Callum Wraight and Jack Hargreaves (Shrewsbury/Hyde ) beat Dave McDermott and Robbie Fitzpatrick (Wirral ) 51-37.

Intermediate stages:

Monday September 17: A Duckett and C Weaver (Shrewsbury) v W Burlinson and P Davies (Warrington), D Plenderleith and A Aldridge (Tamworth ) v C Ward and G Hawkins (Stafford).

Thursday September 20: A Mailer and S Marshall (Sheffield ) v A Spragg and C Macdonald (Chesterfield/Macclesfield), W Ditchfield and I Nicholson (Chorley) v D Griffiths and A Buckley (Chadderton).

Monday September 24: I Booth and G Cookson (Lower Hopton/Winsford) v T Johnstone and L Johnstone (Poynton/Warrington), M Robinson and A Leach (Morton House/Lower Hopton) v R Nicholson and G Nicholson ( Lower Hopton).

Thursday September 27: G Ellis and C Brown (Whitefield/Sheffield ) v G Hickey and M Leach (Lower Hopton/Preston), C Wraight and J Hargreaves (Shrewsbury/Hyde) v Qualifier from Thursday September 13.

Semi-finals and final Monday October 1.

n There was disappointment for the Yorkshire Ladies County Crown Green Bowling team when they lost to South Yorkshire in the final of the British Ladies County Championship by just eight points at the Waterloo Hotel, Blackpool last Sunday.

Yorkshire kept clawing back points until they were one behind with three jacks still on the green but it was not to be.

Sharon Gadd (West Park) gave an outstanding performance from being 7-1 down to winning 20 consecutive points to finish a 21-7 winner, with Louise Whiteley (Hove Edge) and Ann Hinchliffe (Lockwood Cons) both winning 21-9.

Yorkshire 421, South Yorkshire 429: Andrea Buckley (New Mill) 19, Linda Rowland 21; Debbie Davies (Pudsey BC) 8, Jackie Fraser 21; Suzi Ladbroke (Lockwood Cons) 17, Jean Winchcombe 21; Jacqui Roper (Meltham) 21, Elizabeth Burkhill 17; Karen Whitefoot (Marsh Utd) 17, Elizabeth Hill 21; Dawn Bray (Ossett Flying Horse) 21, Rachel Wass 15; Katy Atkinson (Marsh Utd) 17, Cynthia Tonge 21; Louise Whiteley (Hove Edge) 21, Janet Bissatt 9; Karen Hill (Hanging Heaton) 21, Pauline Tomlinson 18; Jean Gee (Marsh Utd) 9, Debbie Talbot 21; Marie Lockwood (New Mill) 8, Jennifer Wilby 21; Linda Gledhill (New Mill) 17, Sarah Fox 21; Ann Hinchliffe (Lockwood Cons) 21, Jayne Hamilton 9; Karen Gant (Meltham) 21, Margaret Richardson 14; Christine Hasselby (Myrtle Park) 12, Susan Hill 21; June Johnson (Ossett Flying Horse) 21, Anna Hamilton 13; Marjorie Haigh (Heckmondwike) 21, Yvonne Hamilton 19; Julie Best (Marsh Utd) 10, Margaret Swift 21; Amanda Hagen (Ossett Flying Horse) 21, Maxine White 19; Lisa Rice (Harold Club) 21, Melanie Saville 16; Sharon Gadd (West Park) 21 Donna Pugh 7; Alexis Lunn-Gadd (Morton House) 20, Sarah Clarke 22; Julie Mallinson (Outlane) 19, Christine Davies 21; Suzanne Howarth (New Mill) 17, Kerry Brown 21.

n Hove Edge BC, Brighouse stage their Ladies Day on Saturday October 6 (start 10am). Prize money of £150 (entries permitting) is on offer and the club will also stage a supplementary competition for first round losers. Entries to Sheila Whiteley on 01418 769979 or 07860 880150.

n The final of the Dewsbury Parks Veterans BA Oldroyd Pairs Trophy and presentation day will be held at Hanging Heaton this Friday (September 14), scratch time 10.15am, start time 10.30am. Any club who can supply cakes or donate prizes for the raffle would be gratefully received.

n Matt Jones (Dukinfield) and Liam Griffin (Leeds) qualified in the latest heat of the £5,300 Brighouse Classic sponsored by Naylor Wintersgill (Chartered Accountants). Jones beat Pudsey’s James Hanson 21-16 in the third round, while Griffin left Joe Bray (Cleckheaton) on 10. The final heat takes place this Friday at 6.30pm.

Draw:Darren Griffiths (Chadderton) v John Metters (Preston), Dave McDermott (Wirral) v Graham Hirst (Mirfield), Dean Ferris (Stoke) v Andrew Sykes (Mirfield), Andy Milsom (Burton-on-Trent) v Dave Jackson (Macclesfield), Darren Smith (Burton-on-Trent) v Graham Hickey (Halifax), Lee Heaton (Preston) v Richard Brook (Mirfield), Mark Ferris (Stoke) v Allan Thompson (Mirfield), Andy Buckley (Chadderton) v Adrian Ward (Ullenhall).

n The North Kirklees Veterans BA Alec Edwards mixed pairs competition and presentation day is at Mirfield Old Bank on Thursday September 20. Competitors note the scratch time of 10.15am. Start at 10.30am.

n The finals of the Heavy Woollen Parks Saturday League knock out cups takes place this Saturday (September 15). Division One at Heckmondwike (2pm): Hightown v Hanging Heaton. Division Two at Royds Park(1.30pm): Millbridge B v Soothill.

Heavy Woollen Parks

Results and tables

Div 1: Millbridge A 158, Mirfield OB B 198; Thornhill A 200, Hightown 154; Royds Park 167, Rock House 167; Mirfield OB A 210, Thornhill B 118.

Table: Hanging Heaton pl 15 2755pts, Thornhill A 14-2702, Mirfield OB B 15-2696, Birstall 15 2442, Rock House 14 2306, Thornhill B 15-2300, Hightown 13-2299, Royds Park 13-2235, Millbridge A 14-2195, Mirfield OB A 14-2191.

Div 2: Soothill 151, Millbdige 109; Slazengers 145, Staincliffe 117; Rock House Park 136, spen Victoria 136.

Table: Soothill pl 14 2040pts, Spen Victoria 14-1997, Slazengers 13-2952, Millbridge B 13-1740, Heckmondwike 12-1655, Staincliffe 13-1644, Holroyd Pk 13-1619, Royds Park 13-1564, Rock House 13-1496.

Heavy Woollen District BA Evening League Final Tables

Sec A: Overthorpe Sp A 2105pts, Thornhill C&B A 2047, Morton House A 1926, Hanging Heaton A 1917, Kirkheaton Cons A 1878, Mirfield CF A 1874, Ossett Flying Horse 1851, Grange Moor A 1712.

Sec B: Mirfield CF B 1978, Horbury WMC 1943, Ossett C&B A 1941, Thornhill C&B B 1911, Overthorpe Sp B 1901, Denby Grange B 1899, Birstall IDL 1870, Staincliffe Pk A 1786.

Sec C: Hanging Heaton B 2312, Overthorpe Sp C 2246, Rock House 2243, Horbury Bridge BC 2199, Thornhill C&B C 2189, Soothill Pk BC 2134, Earlsheaton Pk 2074, Kirkheaton Cons B 2009, Ossett C&B B 1977.

Sec D: Morton House B 2418, Denby Grange C 2326, Grange Moor B 2253, Ossett C&B C 2199, Staincliffe Pk B 2165, Holroyd Pk 2153, Overthorpe Sp D 2061, Ossett C&B D 1981, Morton House C 1922.

Dewsbury Parks Veterans

Final LeagueTables

Div A: Earlsheaton Park 1830pts, Hanging Heaton CCBS 1792, Ossett C&AC 1700, Soothill Park 1697, Crow Nest Park 1648, Staincliffe Park 1595, Ossett C&AC B 1540, Earlsheaton Park 1502, Mirfield Parish BC 1338.

Div B: Holroyd Park 1871, Overthorpe Sports 1779, Wilton Park 1664, Rock House Park 1606, Holroyd Park B 1591, soothill Park B 1516, Batley C&BC 1476, Earlsheaton Park D 1237.