United boost Central title bid – welcome win for Crossbank

HECKMONDWIKE and Carlinghow United boosted their title hopes in Section A of the Huddersfield Central League with a 131-run home win over Almondburians A.

Solid batting by United’s top order laid the platform for a challenging 263 all out.

James Hudston top scored on 83, Paul Cooper hit 59 and Sajad Hussain 58. Matthew Crowther added 21 and Shoaib Rehman 20.

In reply opener Matthew Marshall made 36 and Tim Taylor 29 but they lacked support as Almondburians’ 10 men were dismissed for 132. Jonathan Elstub took 3-38 and Adam Holt 3-25 while Rehman (1-33) and Jonathan Bennett (1-18) also struck.

Victory saw United rise to third place, five points behind leaders Woodfield A who beat Denby A by 60 runs.

Mirfield A dropped to sixth place after a two-wicket loss to Silkstone. Mirfield were 155 all out, with D Walker taking 5-40 before Silkstone, led by D Chambers (86no) reached 156-8.

Thornhill and Westborough A missed the chance to go top of the Premier Division as they lost by 140 runs to Almondbury A.

The hosts racked up 273-7 before Thornhill and Westborough were 133 all out.

Victory saw Almondbury go top of the table, six points ahead of Thurstonland and eight clear of fourth-placed Thornhill and Westborough.

Mount A are third in Section B after a 145-run win over Birkby Rose Hill B.

Mount powered to 225-6 before dismissing their opponents for 80. It leaves them two point behind leaders Almondbury B who beat Denby Grange A by 78 runs.

Crossbank Meths A stand fifth after a narrow 10-run victory over Birchencliffe A.

Alan Firth (31), David Bedford (22) and Wayne Lawford (20no) were the leading scorers as Crossbank were 130 all out in 40 overs.

Jack Spencer (3-23) and Younis Hussain (3-43) then helped peg the visitors back and with James Lord claiming 2-19 and Paul Ratcliffe 1-21 they were 120 all out in 34 overs.

Upper Hopton A lost by 40 runs at home to Edgerton and Dalton B, who hit 205-7.

Michael Howard took 2-47 and Thomas Heaton 2-27 while there was a wicket each for Russell Laycock, Matthew Wall and Jordan France. After a stuttering start in reply, France hit 32 and Mark Beresford 44 late on but wickets fell steadily and Hopton were 165 all out.

Mirfield B gave Section C leaders Holmbridge B a fright before losing by three wickets at Memorial Park.

Daniel Martin made 25 as Mirfield were skittled out for 82. Ben Thornton and Asad Kasmi dismissed both Holmbridge openers without troubling the scorers before Ian Parr (28no) and Jon Mosby (27) led the fightback.

Fine bowling by Emma Bolt (3-17 in seven overs with three maidens) and Graham Whitworth (2-2 in five with three maidens) turned the screw but the leaders edged to 83-7 in 29 overs.

Jon Ogilvie hit 61 not out as Gawthorpe St Marys A reached 202-6 against Upper Hopton B. Hopton won by three wickets as they made 203-7 with A Wroe hiting 56 and G Atkinson 68 not out.

Crossbank B (Shahid Tanvir 3-53) lost by 95 runs to Cumberworth B.

The hosts were 194-6 as David Walmsley, Steven Blackburn and Scott Minto took a wicket each.

Blackburn then made 24 in reply and Minto 40 but Crossbank B were 99 all out.

Heckmondwike and Carlinghow B lost by three wickets at Leymoor B in Section E. Colin Trevitt made 25 and Martin Waldron 39 as they were dismissed for 98.

Waldron then took 3-35, Brian Hill 1-20 in 10 overs and Graham Heywood 1-9 as Leymoor reached 102-7.