Yorkshire League set to resume action next week

THE Yorkshire Amateur Rugby League are set to continue with 20 teams split into two divisions of 10.

A meeting was due to be held last night, Wednesday, when the first batch of fixtures were to be handed out.

The opening round of matches will take place next Saturday, September 10.

A number of clubs have withdrawn from the league and switched to the Pennine League or opted to move to summer rugby.

It means Batley Boys are the only local side remaining and they will play in Division One.

The League constitution will be:

Div 1: Batley Boys, Bentley Good Companions, Brotherton, Castleford Panthers, Castleford Lock Lane, Doncaster Toll Bar, Fryston, Nevison Leap, Normanton, Upton.

Div 2: Wakefield City, Crofton Cougars, Eastmoor, Harehills, Kellingley, Kinsley, Ryhill, Chequerfield, Whinmoor, Whitkirk (formerly Manston).